Jun 29, 2016
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

​BFC & Topshop announce NEWGEN SS17 recipients

Jun 29, 2016

The British Fashion Council and Topshop have revealed the eight emerging designers who will be supported through the NEWGEN scheme to showcase their SS17 collections at London Fashion Week from 16-20 September 2016.

NEWGEN September recipients - BFC

Ashley Williams, Danielle Romeril, Faustine Steinmetz, Marta Jakubowski, Molly Goddard, Ryan Lo and Sadie Williams will all continue to receive support this season, alongside new recipient Paula Knorr, a Royal Academy of Art graduate whose womenswear brand is now in its third season.

NEWGEN is a BFC initiative sponsored by Topshop. It supports the best emerging talent with financial support, business mentoring and showcasing opportunities.

This season will see Ashley Williams, Ryan Lo and Molly Goddard host catwalk shows, while Danielle Romeril, Faustine Steinmetz, Marta Jakubowski, Sadie Williams and Paula Knorr will host static presentations.

The scheme will also offer each designer a dedicated pop-up showroom space within the Designer Showrooms at Brewer Street Car Park.

Sarah Mower MBE, BFC Ambassador for Emerging Talent, Chief Critic, VogueRunway.com and Chair of the NEWGEN committee commented: “Discovering, supporting and mentoring NEWGEN is the most vital and effective work the British Fashion Council does. The designers who graduate through this scheme are the lifeblood of London and its reputation as a creative hotbed with business credentials developed at a very early stage. This generation is thinking of new ways of presenting and are natural communicators of the digital age – they are all individualists with exciting, optimistic ideas which are a delight to see.” 

Mary Homer, Managing Director, TOPSHOP comments: "Once again, TOPSHOP is thrilled to be supporting the next generation of British fashion talent. We are incredibly excited about the direction each of the recipients is taking with their collection and are proud to be part of their journeys from emerging talent to global stage."

Previous NEWGEN winners include some of today’s most exciting designers such as Christopher Kane, Erdem, J.W.Anderson, Marques’Almeida, Mary Katrantzou, Nicholas Kirkwood, Roksanda Ilincic and Simone Rocha.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.