Jun 8, 2011
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

And the winners of the CFDA Fashion Awards are...

Jun 8, 2011

On Monday the 6th of June, the “who’s who” of the New York fashion scene gathered at the Alice Tully Hall inside the Lincoln Center to attend the unmissable CFDA Fashion Awards and give away prizes to the best American designers.

Council of Fashion Designers of America, Proenza Schouler, Michael Bastian, And
Proenza Schouler's designers at the CFDA Fashion Awards 2011

This year, the womenswear designer of the year award was given to the Proenza Schouler duo, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez. The two were competing against Marc Jacobs who, once again, did not leave empty handed and left with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, a special prize to congratulate the designer for his influence in contemporary fashion. As for menswear, the award was given to Michael Bastian.

As for the Swarovski awards, created to honour emerging talents, Prabal Gurung won the women’s category, after competing with the Olsen twin sisters Ashley and Mary-Kate. Robert Geller won in the menswear category, while Eddie Borgo walked out with the accessory design award and Phoebe Philo with the International award. Finally, pop star Lady Gaga left with the very special prize of “fashion icon”.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.