Sep 10, 2021
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

CFDA adds 12 new members

Sep 10, 2021

The Council of Fashion Designers of America announced this week 12 new members to the CFDA, bringing the total membership to 452.

As part of its 2021 admissions process, the new designer additions selected are Autumn Adeigbo of Autumn Adeigbo; Abrima Erwiah of Studio One Eighty Nine; Claudia Li; Christopher John Rogers; Hillary Taymour of Collina Strada; Jonathan Cohen; Kenneth Nicholson; LaQuan Smith; Marina Moscone; Mike Eckhaus and Zoe Latta of Eckhaus Latta, and Willy Chavarria.

While all designers who have been involved with CFDA programs and who resonated creatively with the Board were invited to join, the CFDA board of directors led the 2021 admissions process. They were then officially elected by the organization’s membership. The additions come after a year (2020), where the CFDA decided to not add designers to the membership. 

“We are proud to have this group of designers as members,” CFDA CEO Steven Kolb said. “Their diverse talent already significantly contributes to our industry and represents the future of American fashion, which they will no doubt help define.” 

As part of the announcement, the CFDA also introduced a new two-tier membership program. The offering is a new associate member tier for existing CFDA Members who are in good standing within the organization but have not created a fashion collection for three or more years.  

Next, the CFDA will also introduce the interim member tier in October, which will serve as a pipeline to CFDA membership for early emerging designer brands. To be eligible, a designer should be in business for at least one year, but not more than five years with annual sales that cannot exceed $2 million.  

The new membership tiers align with the CFDA’s objective to address and support the varying needs of designers throughout the entire lifeline of their careers. 

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.