Sep 15, 2020
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

CFDA announces 2020 fashion award winners

Sep 15, 2020

As New York Fashion Week commences, the Council of Fashion Designers of America has moved past the postponement of the original in-person 2020 CFDA Fashion Awards to announce its latest fashion award winners. 

Telfar Clemens, winner of the 2020 CFDA Fashion Award for American Accessories designer of the Year. - CFDA

Gabriela Hearst has been named Womenswear Designer of the Year, beating out fellow nominees Marc Jacobs, last year's American Womenswear-winner, Brandon Maxwell; five-time CFDA award-winners, Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen of The Row; and CFDA chairman, Tom Ford.

Kerby Jean-Raymond's Pyer Moss took home the award for American Menswear Designer of the Year, winning over 2019's American Emerging Designer award-winner, Emily Adams Bode of Bode, Todd Snyder, Thom Browne, and Tom Ford.

Telfar Clemens of Telfar, known for his iconic embossed logo bags, has been named American Accessories designer of the Year. Fellow nominees included Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen of The Row, Gabriela Hearst, Stuart Vevers of Coach, and Jennifer Fisher of Jennifer Fisher Jewelry.

The award for American Emerging Designer of the Year went to Christopher John Rogers, overcoming fellow nominees Kenneth Nicholson, Peter Do, Reese Cooper and Sarah Staudinger, and George Augusto of Staud. 

Valentino's Pierpaolo Piccioli has won International Women's Designer of the Year over nominees Daniel Lee of Bottega Veneta, Dries Van Noten, Miuccia Prada of Prada and Rick Owens

Finally, Kim Jones has won International Men's Designer of the Year for Dior, over Craig Green, Dries Van Noten, Jonathan Anderson of Loewe, and Virgil Abloh of Louis Vuitton

The winners were announced by Tom Ford via a video posted on Runway360, the CFDA's dedicated digital fashion platform, as well as on the CFDA's social media channels. 

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.