Jun 4, 2019
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

CFDA names 2019 Fashion Award winners

Jun 4, 2019

The Council of Fashion Designers of America has named its 2019 CFDA Fashion Award winners.

Jennifer Lopez was awarded the Fashion Icon Award for 2019 - Instagram @cfda

The June 3 ceremony was held for the second year in a row at the Brooklyn Museum, this year with the help of hosts Hasan Minhaj and Jessica Williams. The CFDA published its list of this year’s nominees and honorees for the annual ceremony back in March. Nominees competed for the categories of Womenswear, Menswear, Accessory, and Emerging Designer of the Year.

The 2019 winners were as follows:

Menswear Designer of the Year went to Rick Owens, who took the win over fellow nominees Mike Amiri for Amiri, Virgil Abloh for Off-White, Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss and Thom Browne for Thom Browne New York.

Womenswear Designer of the Year went to Brandon Maxwell. The designer beat out Marc Jacobs, Kate and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte, Rosie Assoulin and Sander Lak for Sies Marjan, who won the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent at the 2018 CFDA awards.

Accessory Designer of the Year was given to Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row, marking the label’s second consecutive year win in the accessory designer category. Other nominees included Jennifer Fisher for Jennifer Fisher Jewelry, Virgil Abloh for Off-White, Tabitha Simmons and Telfar Clemens for Telfar.

The Emerging Designer of the Year award went to Emily Adams Bode for Bode, edging out Beth Bugdaycay for Foundrae, Heron Preston, Catherine Holstein for Khaite and Sarah Staudinger and George Augusto for Staud. The win comes as the New York label prepares to make its runway debut during Paris Fashion Week this month. Additionally, Bode is currently a finalist for the 2019 LVMH Prize.

2019 honorees included Jennifer Lopez, who was given the 2019 Fashion Icon Award; Bob Mackie, who was given the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award; and Mattel’s Barbie, who received the Board of Directors' Tribute. The Valentino Garavani and Giancarlo Giammetti International Award was given to Sarah Burton for Alexander McQueen, while the Positive Change Award went to Eileen Fisher.

The Founder’s Award, given in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert, went to stylist and editor, Carine Roitfeld, and the Media Award, which honors American fashion writer Eugenia Sheppard, went to fashion editor and writer Lynn Yaeger.

The evening marked the first CFDA Fashion Award ceremony under the organization’s new chairman, Tom Ford.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.