Nov 22, 2019
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

Fashion Awards 2019 announces new Designers’ Designer Award

Nov 22, 2019

This year’s Fashion Awards will include a new title: the Designers’ Designer Award, selected by the founding members of the British Fashion Council’s new subscription programme.

The Fashion Awards are the BFC's main fundraiser - British Fashion Council

The new accolade will recognise the British designer businesses that have achieved a global impact through creativity in product design, campaigns and collaborations.

Christopher Kane, Jonathan Anderson, Margaret Howell, Roksanda Ilinčić and Simone Rocha have been nominated for the new award. The winner will be announced at a ceremony on Monday 2 December at the Royal Albert Hall.

The launch of the new award category follows the BFC’s decision to move towards a subscription model with the unveiling of a new membership programme. Designed for fashion designers at varying stages of their career, the service offers access to a network of professionals plus unparalleled insights into various subjects.

With four nominations across multiple categories, Scottish designer Jonathan Anderson is leading the Fashion Awards with the most nominations this year. In addition to the Designer’s Designer award, he is up for Accessories Designer of the Year for his work at Loewe, British Designer of the Year Womenswear and Designer of the Year. The Spanish luxury brand he leads, Loewe, is also in the shortlist for the prestigious Brand of the Year.

Simone Rocha is running against Jonathan Anderson in the British Designer of the Year Womenswear category.

All winners will be revealed at the Fashion Awards next month, an event that has become the main fundraiser for the British Fashion Council’s charitable and talent support work. This year, the organisation received more than £1.3 million in donations.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.