Jan 18, 2018
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

Fortie Label wins Fashion Scout’s AW18 Merit Award

Jan 18, 2018

London-based designer Essie Buckman, and her emerging fashion brand Fortie Label, has been announced as the winner of Fashion Scout’s AW18 Merit Award.

Fortie Label - Photo: Fashion Scout

The prize includes a fully-sponsored catwalk show during London Fashion Week with space to host press and buyers, providing a platform for the brand to showcase to a global audience.

Fortie Label was chosen from hundreds of applicants by a judging panel made up of six industry experts, including Martyn Roberts, Fashion Scout’s founder and director; Hattie Crisell, acting fashion editor at The Times; Ida Petersson, womenswear buying director at Browns; Emma Firth, online fashion editor at Hunger; Kendall Robbins, fashion programme manager at The British Council, and Fabio Piras, MA course leader at Central Saint Martins.

Essie Buckman has shown two seasons independently, and often uses traditional techniques in hand embroidery and hand painted prints across her womenswear brand. For AW18, Fortie Label draws inspiration from the Forty thieves, thieves, an all-female London crime syndicate who were infamously known for their antics from 19th to mid-20th century.

Fashion Scout founder Martyn Roberts comments: “We are extremely excited to award Essie the Merit Award and showcase Fortie Label at Fashion Scout for AW18. The brand was an easy decision for the judging panel to award Merit to, due to the intriguing fabric combinations and pattern cutting skills, mixed with strong cultural inspiration. Fashion Scout are excited to give Essie the opportunity to continue building the Fortie Label brand and profile here in London.”

Buckman added: “It is truly an honour winning the Merit Award as this opportunity with Fashion Scout will enable us to elevate a young up-coming brand such as Fortie Label to the next level.”

Fortie Label follows in the successful footsteps of past winners including Eudon Choi, Phoebe English, David Koma, Roberts|Wood, Han Wen, Xiao Li, Katie Ann McGuigan and SS18 winner EDDA.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.