Oct 5, 2021
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

IMG names 2021 finalists of the Australian Fashion Laureate

Oct 5, 2021

IMG announced on Monday the finalists of the 2021 Australian Fashion Laureate, honouring the achievements of Australian fashion’s leaders and innovators. 

IMG names 2021 finalist of the Australian Fashion Laureate. - Facebook: Christopher Esber

The Australian Fashion Laureate awards recognise accomplishments across categories including Designer of the Year, Emerging Designer of the Year, Sustainable Innovation and People’s Choice.

Among the finalists, Anna Plunket and Luke Sales from the label Romance Was Born were nominated for Designer of the Year, alongside Christopher Esber, Edwina Forest and Adrian Norris from Aje and Sophie Holt from Oroton. 

Up for the Emerging Designer of the Year is Jordan Dalah and Jordan Gogos from the label Iordanes Spyridon Gogos, who will square off against Julie Shaw from Maara Collective and Richard Jarman from Commas. 

Meanwhile, for the Sustainable Innovation of the Year award, Emma Jarman and Richard Jarman, from Commas were nominated, alongside James Bartle from Outland Denim, Kit Willow from Kitx, and Mary-Lou Ryan and Deborah Sams, from Bassike. 

Finally among indigenous talent, Denni Francisco from Ngali, Grace Lillian Lee, Julie Shaw from and Lillardia Briggs-Houston from Ngarru Miimi were nominated for Indigenous Designer of the Year. 

“The Australian Fashion Laureate celebrates the ingenuity of Australian fashion’s top designers and creators,” said Natalie Xenita, vice president-managing director of IMG’s fashion events and properties, Asia-Pacific. “This year’s nominees reflect the creative excellence and diverse voices shaping our industry and its future.”

Australian Fashion Laureate recipients are chosen by Australian Fashion Industry Alumni, a panel of industry leaders, including media, buyers, communications professionals, creatives and designers.

The People’s Choice Award gives the public the opportunity to vote for their favourite Australian fashion designers among finalists selected by IMG and Afterpay. Voting is now open and will continue through 7 November 20. 

Winners will be announced on 30 November 2021 at a celebratory event in Sydney.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.