Apr 18, 2016
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

India, Pakistan and Middle East nominees announced for 2016/17 Woolmark Prize

Apr 18, 2016

The Woolmark Prize has just revealed the last remaining nominees for the 2016/17 edition of the awards. It released the names of the designers from India, Pakistan and Middle East to have been nominated.

Photo: Woolmark Prize

The nominees for the menswear prize are Bounipun, India; House of Arsalan Iqbal, Pakistan; Emperor 1688, Middle East, and Mashael Alrajhi, Middle East. For womenswear, designers Nachiket Barve, India; Sahil Kochhar, India; Eka, India; Bashar Assaf, Lebanon; Mira Hayek, Lebanon; Saira*Shakira, Pakistan; Zonia, Pakistan; Republic Womenswear, Pakistan; Bouguessa, Middle East; Bint Thani, Middle East and Reem Al Kanhal, Middle East will compete for the award.

Nominees will present one look in Merino wool and a six-piece capsule concept to industry experts for the chance to represent their region at the final awards, with the winner of the regional awards receiving AUS $50,000. The overall winners of the menswear and womenswear finals get another AUS $100,000.

The award ceremony for the three regions will be held on 15th July 2016 in Mumbai. The official nominating bodies in India, Pakistan & Middle East are IMG Reliance (India), Pakistan Fashion Design Council (Pakistan), Dubai Design and Fashion Council (Dubai) and Tala Starch Foundation (Lebanon).

FashionMag has previously reported the names of the nominees for the USA, British Isles, Europe, Asia and Australia.  

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.