Mar 18, 2016
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

The CFDA announces 2016 Fashion Award nominees and honorees

Mar 18, 2016

The CFDA has announced the nominees and honorees for the 2016 Fashion Awards that will be held at Hammerstein Ballroom on June 6, 2016 in collaboration with Swarovski. CFDA Chairman Diane von Furstenberg and Swarovski Crystal Business Executive Board member Nadja Swarovski unveiled the names Wednesday evening.

Front row, from left: Alex Orley, Tim Coppens, Irene Neuwirth, Laura Kim, Norma Kamali, Ryan Roche, Aurora James, Nadja Swarovski, Gigi Burris, Joseph Altuzarra, Todd Snyder, Rio Uribe. Back row, from left: Dao-Yi Chow, Maxwell Osborne, Samantha Orley, Matthew Orley. - CFDA

The nominees for Womenswear Designer of the Year are Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra; Marc Jacobs; Jack McCullough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler; Kate and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte; and 2015 winners, Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row.
The Menswear Designer of the Year nominees are Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne for Public School; Marcus Wainwright and David Neville for Rag & Bone; Tim Coppens; Thom Browne and Todd Snyder. All nominees return from last year except for Todd Snyder who was last nominated for the Swarovski Award for Menswear in 2014.

Altuzarra, Proenza Schouler and The Row picked up nominations for the Accessory Designer of the Year Award, as well as Irene Neuwirth and 2015 Swarovski Award for Accessory Design winners Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel. Proenza Schouler, The Row and Irene Neuwirth were nominated for the award in 2015, but lost to Tabitha Simmons.
Nadja Swarovski announced the three Swarovski categories, which are the Swarovski Award for Womenswear, the Swarovski Award for Menswear and the Swarovski Award for Accessory Design.
The Womenswear Award nominees include Brandon Maxwell; Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia for Monse, and Ryan Roche; Menswear Award nominees are Rio Uribe for Gypsy Sport; John Elliott, and Alex Orley, Matthew Orley and Samantha Orley for Orley and the Accessory Design Award nominees are Aurora James for Brother Vellies; Gigi Burris, and Paul Andrew.
In addition, Norma Kamali is to receive the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, the Founders Award will go to Donna Karan, Imran Amed of Business of Fashion will receive the Media Award, Gucci’s Alessandro Michele will receive the International Award and David Bowie is posthumously receiving the Board of Director’s Tribute.
The 2016 Fashion Awards is the 15th consecutive year in collaboration with Swarovski.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.