Jul 27, 2016
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

The CFDA announces 40 new members

Jul 27, 2016

The Council of Fashion Designers in America has grown by 40 members following the latest additions made on Monday. The organization’s Board of Directors ratified the addition of the designers bringing the CFDA Membership to 504.

Steven Kolb and Diane von Furstenberg

The 40 designers include Dana Arbib of A Peace Treaty; Anna Sheffield; Annette and Phoebe Stephens of Anndra Neen; Adam and Ryan Goldston of Athletic Propulsion Labs (APL); Brandon Maxwell; Aurora James of Brother Vellies; Raul Arevalo and Brad Schmidt of Cadet; Stuart Vevers of Coach; Fleur du Mal’s Jennifer Zuccarini; Garrett Leight; Isa Tapia; Jasmin Shokrian; Jeremy Scott; Jordan Askill; Kobi Halperin; Matteo Gottardi of W.R.K.; Yves Spinelli of Spinelli Kilcollin; Scot Shandalove and Jake Zeitlin of Matiere; Monica Zwirner and Lucy Wallace Eustice of MZ Wallace; Sophia Amoruso of Nasty Gal; Nick Fouquet; Alex, Matthew and Samantha Orley of Orley; Rosetta Getty; Sarah Flint; Thaddeus O’Neil; Lisa Kulson and Ben Stubbington of Theory; Timo Weiland, Alan Eckstein and Donna Kang of Timo Weiland; Wes Gordon; Marissa Webb; and Catherine Zadeh of Zadeh.
“The CFDA received a record number of applications for membership this year,” said Lisa Smilor, Executive Vice President of the CFDA. “The 40 new Members continue to extend the range of CFDA talent in categories from jewelry to footwear, lingerie and millinery in addition to apparel.”

A number of the new members have been honored by the CFDA throughout the years including Aurora James, Raul Arevalo and Brad Schmidt, Thaddeus O’Neil, and Alex, Matthew and Samantha Orley who were all part of the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund. Also, newest additions Timo Weiland, Alan Eckstein, Dana Arbib and Isa Tapia were all part of the CFDA Fashion Incubator.

James and O’Neil are two designers to be a part of both initiatives, and James won the 2015 CVFF with Jonathan Simkhai and Rio Uribe of Gypsy Sport. Timo Weiland is also the first brand to take part in the CFDA and Cadillac's first Retail Lab.
In addition to the member ratification, The Board voted to extend Diane von Furstenberg’s role as Chairwoman through 2018.
CFDA President and CEO Steven Kolb said: “The Board’s unanimous decision to ask Diane to stay on as Chairwoman is a further testament to the unprecedented growth the CFDA has experienced under her leadership. The additional two years allow her to continue to strengthen the board and organization as a whole.”

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.