Jan 28, 2019
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

The LVMH Prize reveals calendar and new committee experts

Jan 28, 2019

Founded by Delphine Arnault in 2014, the LVMH Prize, now in its sixth consecutive edition, has bestowed awards on 11 brands over the course of the years, including Marine Serre, Hood by Air, Jacquemus and Grace Wales Booner. This year, young fashion designers have until 4 February to send in their applications and will be presenting their work to 62 industry experts, 16 of whom are new additions to the panel. 

The LVMH Prize's 16 new expertsLVMH - LVMH

Among the new faces are model Naomi Campbell, editor-in-chief of British Vogue Edward Enninful, influencers Chiara Ferragni and Aimee Song, editor-in-chief of M Le Monde Suzanne Koller, director Loïc Prigent and Hypebeast founder Kevin Ma. 

On 1 and 2 March, the newly expanded committee of experts will choose eight young designers to take part in the Prize's final in June of this year. The event traditionally takes place at the Fondation Louis Vuitton and judging is carried out by the creative directors of the LVMH brands and other personalities from the group. The jury members for 2019 will be revealed by Delphine Arnault at the same time as the names of the eight finalists. 

The winner of the prize will receive 300,000 euros and a year of mentoring from LVMH. In parallel with the main competition, the prize also awards three 10,000-euro grants to young fashion school graduates, as well as the chance to join the creative team of one of LVMH's brands for a year. Candidates for this competition have until 15 May to apply. 

Intended to offer "real patronage to the fashion designers of the world," the LVMH Prize has, according to Delphine Arnault – recently appointed to the group's executive committee – "become a reference in the fashion world: since its launch, the prize has received more than 6,500 applications from brands of over 35 different nationalities, while 130 designers have reached the semi-finals."

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.