Jul 9, 2014
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

The Woolmark Prize announces its European winners

Jul 9, 2014

Augustin Teboul and Asger Juel Larsen will represent Europe during the international finals of the Woolmark Prize 2014-2015. Their victory at the European regional phase, announced in Paris on July 8, sees them rewarded with a 34,500 euro grant (50 000 Australian dollars) that will allow them to develop a Merino wool collection over the coming months, having presented an initial design to the jury this week.

Augustin Teboul and their winning design (DR)

They have prevailed over fellow competitors that included the French designers Melinda Gloss and Étienne Deroeux. Woolmark’s previous winner, Christian Wijnants of Belgium, now presents in Paris.

The 2014/2015 competition marks the launch of the menswear category, which will include a worldwide winner in addition to the victor for womenswear. Both grand prizewinners will receive the equivalent of 69,000 euros (100,000 Australian dollars) and the opportunity to sell their future capsule in the Woolmark Prize’s partner stores, which include Harvey Nichols, Colette, Isetan, Saks Fifth Avenue and MyTheresa.com.

The French designer Odely Teboul and the German designer Anneline Augustin are both based in Germany, as is their brand, which is presented during Berlin’s Mercedes Benz Fashion Week. They will represent Europe during the International Woolmark Prize finals, set for March 2015 in Beijing.

The duo Augustin Teboul was chosen by Anita Barr, buying director at Harvey Nichols, Emmanuelle Alt, editor of Vogue Paris, and Peter Copping, creative director at Nina Ricci. "We have been very touched by the mix of Annelie and Odély's personalities,” said the editor of Vogue Paris. “They give the wool an unexpected evening touch.”

Asger Juel Larsen and menswear design (DR)

As for Asger Juel Larsen, the Danish winner for menswear, he will face four other regional menswear competitors in London in January 2015 as part of London Collections: Men.

According to Véronique Nichanian, artistic director for menswear at Hermès, the choice of the Danish designer by the menswear jury, which also included James Sleaford (GQ France), Sarah Andelman (Colette) and Tim Blanks (Style.com), was unanimous.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.