Jun 5, 2020
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

Winners announced for Cordwainers Awards 2020

Jun 5, 2020

The Worshipful Company of Cordwainers has announced the 2020 winners of its National Footwear Student of the Year Awards.

Clara Nordenhok has won the top prize - Cordwainers

Footwear design students from De Montfort University, the University of Northampton and the London College of Fashion were asked to design “an innovative and marketable shoe” and submit their portfolio digitally.

The competition used digital technology to take place during the Covid-19 lockdown, with judges deliberating via email and video conference.

Clara Nordenhok from the London College of Fashion has been announced as the winner of the first prize, with Ellie Gray from De Montfort University taking the second award and Jiwon Joung from De Montfort University, the third. The winners received prizes totalling nearly £12,000.

Liina Vreimann from the London College of Fashion received a commendation. 

“What incredible work! We thoroughly enjoyed going through all your submissions. In such difficult circumstances, you delivered,” said Katie Greenyer, chair of the judging panel, when she announced the award-winners. 

Master of the Cordwainers, Nigel Easton added: “The Worshipful Company of Cordwainers is proud to support the British footwear industry and every year gives away more than £100,000 in bursaries, scholarships and awards to students and makers of footwear and leather goods.

“This year, more than ever, we are grateful to everyone who has enabled our annual awards to go ahead, almost as normal, by harnessing online technology. We hope very much to be able to celebrate the winners’ success with them in person, later in the year.”

The judging panel included Michael Atmore, editorial director of Footwear News; footwear designer Charlotte Olympia Dellal; Katie Greenyer, creative director at Pentland Brands; footwear and accessories designer Beatrix Ong; and Joachim Sedelmeier, head of shoe design at Paul Smith.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.