Jun 17, 2009
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

CFDA Awards 2009: the USA celebrates its designers

Jun 17, 2009

On the 15th of June, the upper crust of the world of New York fashion got together for the CFDA Awards (the Oscars of fashion) for the best American designers in 2009.


Kate and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte came away with the Womenswear Designer of the Year Award, Scott Sternberg of Band of Outsiders and Italo of Zucchelli for Calvin Klein Collection shared the podium for Menswear Designer of the Year Award. Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler took home the Accessory Designer of the Year Award.

As for the youngsters of American fashion, Alexander Wang, for his womenswear collections, Tim Hamilton, for menswear, and Justin Giunta, for jewellery, each received a Swarovski Award, a prize that recognizes emerging talent.

Lastly, Marc Jacobs received the award for Best International Designer for his work at Louis Vuitton and Ralph Lauren.

By Jonathan Fulwell (Source: Sarah Ahssen)

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.