Oct 24, 2016
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

Scottish Fashion Awards hail Kestin Hare, Christopher Kane, Pringle and Charles Jeffrey

Oct 24, 2016

The Scottish Fashion Awards took place in London Friday evening and saw a number of key names taking the top prizes. They included Kestin Hare, Charles Jeffrey, Christopher Kane, Jean Campbell, Roslyn McQuillan and Holly Fulton.

Christopher Kane - Spring-Summer2017 - Womenswear - Londres - © PixelFormula

The event, which was sponsored by Maserati, saw “designer, illustrator and radical creative” Charles Jeffrey crowned Young Designer of the Year, while Jean Campbell, who has appeared in Burberry campaigns, was named Model of the Year.

Kestin hare, who is building a major name for himself in menswear was named Retailer of the Year. Hare, who is a former Debenhams menswear designer, is seen as a future star of British fashion and this year launched a capsule collection in a deal with Marks & Spencer, at the same time as M&S unveiled its Alexa Chung an Jourdan Dunn collections.

Event founder Tessa Hartmann, of Scotland-based fashion PR firm Hartmann media, said the awards provide a platform to "honour and showcase the best creative, fashion, design and textile talent hailing from Scotland.” But as well as celebrating Scottish fashion, her opening speech included a plea to "stop arguing about political borders and instigate a culture of optimism and even risk-taking.”

She said Scots in fashion should"start thinking bigger" and said "Scottishness is essential to British identity and no more so apparent than that of Scottish fashion.”

Other award winners included rising star Roslyne McQuillan, who scooped the Graduate of the Year title and the trio behind the global Tens brand who won the Accessory Designer of the Year title.

Holly Fulton received a special fashion Innovator award “for her contribution to fashion by her innovative creativity” while Pam Hogg was named Fashion icon 2016.

Nikolas Talonpoika, CEO of Christopher Kane picked up the brand's win for Designer Brand of the Year and Stefano Sutter, regional director for Prada, collected the International Designer of the Year award. Pringle of Scotland won the Textile Brand title while Burberry collected the award for Luxury Retailer. Karen Dacre was named Communicator of the Year.

Copyright © 2022 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.